Amino Acids Therapy “Study” ≈ Week 2

Written by: Rebecca Baird, July 8, 2010

The second week of my amino acid therapy study brought with it some interesting discoveries. The first discovery was that my energy levels are way up; no afternoon sleepies, more than enough energy to go above and beyond the call of duty, and no afternoon or evening chocolate cravings. This is indeed a miracle and I thank God every day for this revelation which He has shown to me.

The second discovery was that I was beginning to feel over energized so that meant that I needed to lessen my L-tyrosine supplementation. I never thought I would see the day when I had too much energy, but there it is.

The third discovery was that my husband is feeling better than he has for many years. He has been taking the amino acid supplements as well and has a much better outlook on life. Many people have described him as stoic and serious, but since he has been taking the amino supplements he has brightened up and is excited about life. One of our sons remarked that he had never seen him so happy; this, again, is a miracle to thank God for.

One of the things which I have a great deal of trouble with, is worrying about how many calories I am consuming. I have to retrain myself that calories are not the enemy; they are the fuel my body needs to maintain metabolic equilibrium (homeostasis). The enemy is simple carbohydrates and sugar which need to be deleted from our diets. Simple carbohydrates are refined foods such as white bread, cakes, soft drinks, canned fruits, puddings, and any other item made with refined sugar, sugar substitutes like saccharin or aspartame, or white all-purpose flour. I am really concentrating on making all our foods from scratch and using whole grain and unrefined sugars like honey or unrefined cane sugar.

I have increased my breakfast to include 3 scrambled eggs, toast (made with homemade bread) or pita bread (homemade as well), melon slices or apple slices, and half caf coffee (I am really working on weaning myself off of this). This increase in breakfast has really made a difference throughout the day. I am feeling less drained by mid morning; I get up at 4:30am so mid morning to me is about 8:30am. I have a healthy snack of carrots or celery and humus (homemade) or peanut butter in between meals so that I am not putting myself in starvation mode. Lunch consists of homemade soup or a sandwich made with ham (no nitrates), tuna, chicken (home roasted), or egg salad and a green salad. Dinner usually is variable, but basically consists of a protein, lots of veggies, and cottage cheese. (I will be posting recipes for the homemade menu items in the coming days.)

Leave a Reply

