Amino Acids Therapy “Study” ≈ Week 4

Written by: Rebecca Baird, July 22, 2010

Using myself in this study has been a very interesting experience, to say the least. This last week I ran out of DL-Phenalanine and the result was astounding. I felt ok for at first, but then it hit me and the result was very remarkable. On Tuesday I felt pretty good, my first day without DLPA, but then on Wednesday (yesterday) I felt this kind of pseudo depression coming on as a result of the return of increasing bodily pain. As I considered my feelings and really took hold of what was happening, I found that my pain was not as bad as it had been before I began taking the DLPA, but because I had been pain free for three weeks, the return of the pain was debilitating. It was truly a great experiment, even though unintentional, to see what happens to my mind and body when one of the essential supplements is not present. The effect on my husband and son was not, or didn’t seem, as overwhelming as the effect it had on me.

When the package containing the DLPA was left at my door I was so excited I could hardly contain myself. It was like a ray of hope streaming down from heaven. Within 20 minutes of taking one dose of the supplement I was feeling no pain at all. The reason for this is because DL-Phenylalanine is used by the brain to produce norepinephrine a neurotransmitter depleted by stress, caffeine, nicotine, pollution, and some pharmacological and recreational drugs.  According to Dusty R. Green, M.Ed., research scientist and author, “DL-Phenylalanine… helps replace dopamine, the neurotransmitter responsible for feelings associated with sexual pleasure, confidence, and euphoria. Without DLPA (regardless of whether you use ephedra or not), the adrenals are over-stressed due to stress, caffeine, nicotine, pollution, and some pharmacological and recreational drugs.  Those of you who regularly take DLPA with your coffee understand the meaning of feeling “refreshed and energetic.” By consuming DLPA, you are helping your body restore and balance all 3 major neurotransmitters nicely — serotonin, dopamine, and norepinephrine.

Since amino acids compete with one another through the blood brain barrier, begin taking 500 mg on an empty stomach as soon as you awake each morning for a week.  Wait 15-20 minutes before eating or taking any other supplements since they may contain other competing amino acids.  Each week increase the dose by 500 mg until you max-out at 2,000-2,100 mg per day (depending on the form you take — caps or the plus powder).  This amount appears to be all we need to keep our adrenals fresh and functioning at optimum levels.  Do not take it late in the evening — you may have trouble falling asleep.” I have also found that taking the 500mg two times a day is ample for me. If I take more I begin to feel overly energized.

Stay tuned for more……🙂

2 thoughts on “Amino Acids Therapy “Study” ≈ Week 4

  1. Auntie – this blog was very informative. I personally use Cylapril to balance my adrenals, since my thyroid quit working 5 years ago and I have been on synthroid ever since. I will definitely do more research on the DLPA.

    • Hi Mindy – I am glad that you enjoy my articles. Have you tried pure thyroid? It is natural thyroid – which is what I am using – I didn’t want to go the synthetic route – I am really striving to stay away from synthetics. I started taking the thyroid because my thyroid has been acting up for several years and, you probably know that hypothyroidism runs rampant in our family.

Leave a Reply

